Hockey Humanitarian Award Foundation Announces 2020 Nominees

By The Hockey Humanitarian Foundation

Minneapolis, Minn. — The Hockey Humanitarian Award Foundation today announced 13 nominees for the 2020 Hockey Humanitarian Award. The award, which is celebrating its 25th year, is presented annually to college hockey’s finest citizen — a student-athlete who makes significant contributions not only to his or her team but also to the community-at-large through leadership in volunteerism.

The following are this year’s nominees:

Name Cl. Pos. School Hometown
Matt Beck Jr. G University of Vermont Westport, Conn.
Davis Bunz Jr. D Providence College Middleton, Wis.
Cal Burke * Sr. F University of Notre Dame Boxborough, Mass.
Devin Brosseau * Sr. F Clarkson University Saint-Lambert, Quebec
Amanda Conger Sr. F Saint Anselm College Swanton, Vt.
Catherine Crawley Sr. F University of Connecticut Washingtonville, N.Y.
Jordan Keeley So. G St. Mary’s University St. Peter, Minn.
Conlan Keenan Sr. F SUNY Geneseo Rochester, N.Y.
Dakota Keene Sr. F UMass Boston Poland, Maine
Jimmy Poreda Sr. G SUNY Plattsburgh Tonawanda, N.Y.
Lucas Smith Sr. D Post University Calgary, Alta.
James Varney * Sr. F Stonehill College Smithfield, Maine
Delaney Wolf Jr. D St. Mary’s University Bismarck, N.D.

* Repeat Nominee

Finalists for the 2020 Hockey Humanitarian Award will be announced in February. The 2020 recipient will be honored in a ceremony on Friday, April 10th as part of the NCAA Men’s Frozen Four weekend in Detroit, Michigan.

The group of nominees includes nine seniors, three juniors and one sophomore, along with nine male (4 Div. I) and four female (2 Div. I) candidates. The list includes seven forwards, three defenseman and three goaltenders.