Hockey Humanitarian Award Foundation Announces 2019 Nominees

By The Hockey Humanitarian Foundation

Minneapolis, Minn. — The Hockey Humanitarian Award Foundation today announced 17 nominees for the 2019 Hockey Humanitarian Award. The award is presented annually to college hockey’s finest citizen — a student-athlete who makes significant contributions not only to his or her team but also to the community-at-large through leadership in volunteerism.

The following are this year’s nominees:

Name Cl. Pos. School Hometown
Cam Beecy Sr. D Norwich University Stowe, Vermont.
Devin Brosseau Jr. F Clarkson University Saint-Lambert, Quebec
Jake Bunz Sr. D University of Wisconsin Middleton, Wis.
Cal Burke Jr. F University of Notre Dame Boxborough, Mass.
Stevie DeForge Sr. F Babson College Norwood, Mass.
Vincent Desharnais Sr. D Providence College Laval, Quebec
Ian Edmondson Sr. D Canisius College Toronto, Ontario
Jessie Eldridge Sr. F Colgate University Barrie, Ontario
Ryan Galt Sr. F Univ. of Nebraska Omaha Omaha, Neb.
Nick Kossoff Sr. G Lake Superior State Univ. West Des Moines, Iowa
Annie Pankowski Sr. F University of Wisconsin Laguna Hills, Calif.
Tommy Parran Sr. D The Ohio State University Shaker Heights, Ohio
Jacyn Reeves Sr. F The Ohio State University Holmen, Wis.
Samantha Ridgewell Sr. G Merrimack College Outlook, Saskatchewan
Luke Rivera * Sr. F SUNY Fredonia Pacific Palisades, Calif.
Josh Teves Sr. D Princeton University Calgary, Alberta
James Varney Jr. F Stonehill College Smithfield, Maine

* Repeat Nominee

Finalists for the 2019 Hockey Humanitarian Award will be announced in February. The 2019 recipient will be honored in a ceremony on Friday, April 12th as part of the NCAA Men’s Frozen Four weekend in Buffalo, N.Y.

The group of nominees includes 14 seniors and three juniors, along with 13 male (9 Div. I) and four female candidates. The list includes nine forwards, six defenseman and two goaltenders.